Previous article

APCUG Web Site

APCUG Reports
April-June 2010

Next article

Index for this issue
Default font size
Large font size
Very Large

Scam Alert
by Don Singleton

The Lottery Department British ,22 Garden Close, PE9 2YP, London REF N0: UKNL-L/200-26937 BATCH N0:14/0017/1PD Dear Winner, CONSOLATION WINNER NOTICE We wish to congratulate and inform you on the selection of your email coupon number which was selected among the 5 lucky consolation prize winners Your email ID identified with coupon No. PBL2348974321 and was selected by our E- games Random Selection System (ERSS) with entries from the 250,000 different email addresses enrolled for the E-game.you have been awarded the sum of £1,500,000.00 (British Pounds) held on the 1st of August 2008 in London Uk. You are to contact the claims agent with the following details for the release of your winnings. Claims Requirements: 1.Name in full: 2.Home Address: 3.Sex: 4.Occupation: 5.Phone Number: 6.Age: 7.Present Country Mr Richard Cook. Email:mr_richardcook6@btinternet.com Phone:++44-703-195-7381 Or:+44-703-192-6337 Regards, Mrs. Stella Ellis. (Group Coordinator) Sweepstakes International Program. Gee, I am a consolation winer and I did not even enter. They have not asked for my bank info yet, but I bet they would before I see any of the £1,500,000.00. Free Money Making CD All I have to do to get this free CD is give them my credit card info, which supposedly will just be charged $1.95. But why did they not tell me that before I gave them all of my other information. And I see that by clicking “Ship My Kit” I am ordering the Make Money with Craigslist CD and trial membership for $2.29 S&H (is it $1.95 or $2.29), and after the 7-day trial I will be charged $39.95 a month thereafter if I do not cancel. I also agree to the 14 day and 21 day bonus trials to Grant Master™ and Network Agenda™ for $7.95 a month and $9.95 a month thereafter, should I choose not to cancel. And if I do not notice all that I will be hit month after month until I cancel, and then I bet I will not get my money back. Bank of America Emergency Alert System. Attention All Bank of America Customers. Security & Fraud Protection Update. At Bank of America, were committed to keeping your information confidential and secure, and we take that responsibility very seriously. Our Fraud detection solution helps to protect your business against the risk of fraudulent transactions alerting you to potential risks. We have developed the following protection tools to insure you confidentiality. You can download the latest security pack from our Customer Service Department Sincerely, Carmella Duran. The link would have taken me to http://commercialandbusiness.bankofamerica.usanationwide.comreportid.updatesessionfloavvborkmahua.sitesurvey.doexte.lavvis.com/verify.htm?/Secure/securitychallenge/OSL.htm?LOB=1010043871&refer=lOAVvborkMahuA3 If all of that seems confusing, the operable domain it would go to is lavvis.com which is in Israel. When I actually went to the site, I saw: Which I guess sorta looks like Bank of America because they have one graphic from BofA. The web page says: In order to provide our members with online banking that is as safe and secure as possible, we require that your internet browser support 128-bit encryption. In short, encryption is the translation of data into a secret code. 128-bit encryption, is the highest level of protection available that you can use for all your Internet communications, including credit card use and financial transactions. Our ISP will be upgrading our server from version 2.3 to 3.0. This mean that members will need to upgrade to the latest version of the Bank Of America Certificate. Please read the press release below, and UPGRADE your software. PLEASE NOTE! In approximately 3 days, the server will be automatically upgraded, and your current software may not work with the new release. And they do trigger a download But I am not stupid enough to run it. I received an email with the subject You’ve received a greeting ecard Good day. You have received an eCard To pick up your eCard, choose from any of the following options: Click on the following link (or copy & paste it into your web browser): http://metalstartup.com/e-card.exe Your card will be aviailable for pick-up beginning for the next 30 days. Please be sure to view your eCard before the days are up! We hope you enjoy you eCard. Thank You! http://www.greetingcard.org If the card really was from http://www.greetingcard.org then why does it say http://metalstartup.com/, and why is that website suspended? I strongly suspect that if I executed the “greeting card”, I would be infected with a trojan, possibly http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_99789.htm or http://vil.nai.com/vil/Content/v_142621.htm, or one of the others referred to by http://www.mcafee.com/us/local_content/misc/digital_threat_eguide.pdf. TOTAL CONFIDENCE Oops. I guess I am spilling the beans on this confidetial email Barr. Jose Pedro. Private Email: joseeepedroo@gmail.com If that is your email, why did the email come from josepedro1111@gmail.com. Are you concered that email might me shut down, and you want to be sure to get any responses on a differet address? ATTN: Sir/Madam We do not know each other, but you are the only person I sent this email with hope to get a positive and sincere response, in order to go into a deal that would bring life fortune to both of us. You don’t know me, even to know my gender, yet you want me to believe I am the only one you sent the email to? I am Barrister, Jose Pedro solicitor at law. I am the personal attorney to Engr. Morris Gad, who was a Contractor and has spent most of his life in my country (Spain). On the 19th of April 2006, my client, his wife and their only son were involved in a ghastly car accident along Pinto express road. All occupants of the vehicle unfortunately lost their lives. Since then I have made several enquiries to his embassy to locate any of my clients extended relatives but all efforts was unsuccessful. After these several unsuccessful attempts, I decided to contact you and solicit for your assistance as a foreigner to execute the claim of this fund. I have contacted you to assist in repatriating the assets and Capital valued at US$18.5million left behind by my client before they get confiscated or declared unserviceable by the BANK in, Madrid Spain where these huge deposits were lodged. The said Bank has issued me a notice to provide the next of Kin or have the account confiscated within the next twenty-one Official working days. Since I have been unsuccessful in locating the relatives for over 2 years now, I seek the consent to present you as the Next of kin to the deceased since no-one has come for the fund, so that the proceeds of this account can be paid to you. Is it nomal in Spain for a lawyer to try to find a perfct stranger to give money to to prevent the Spanish goverment from getting it? The request of a foreigner as the next of kin in this transaction is occasioned by the fact that my client was a foreigner and the money cannot be paid into a local bank here, so it will be better for you to stand as the next of kin to my client. How on earth would I do that, without telling a lie. Therefore, on receipt of your positive response, we shall then discuss the sharing ratio and modalities for transfer. I have all necessary information and legal documents needed to back you up for claim. You don’t even know my gender, and you have generated all of that proof? All I require from you is your honest cooperation to enable us see this transaction through. Honesty is not exactly what I am seeing here. I guarantee that this will be executed under a legitimate arrangement that will protect you from any breach of the law. Please reply via e-mail at; joseeepedroo@gmail.com Dear eBay User, During our regular update and verification of our member accounts, we couldn’t verify your current information. Either your information has changed or it is incomplete. There has been no change since I first started using eBay. Please update and verify your information by signing in your account below. If the account information is not updated to current information within 24 hours then, your access to bid or buy on eBay will be restricted. If that was true I would learn it when I logged into eBay, not by an email message. go to this link below to fix the problem. http://ebayinformations.is-the-boss.com That seems like a strange URL for ebay to use. And why are they using IP 213.131.252.251 which is in Duisburg, Germany? Let us see what is there. Aha, that is interesting. Thank you Accounts Managent As outlined in our User Agreement, eBay will periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements. Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions. Copyright 2010 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc And Paypal. I am sure you get emails like this all the time. Clearly the proper way to respond to them is by pressing the delete button. But I thought it might be interesting to analyze some of them to show exactly how I knew they were scams.